Bakı Dövlət Universiteti
Azərbaycan xalqının milli sərvətidir!
Heydər Əliyev

International scientific conference “Azerbaijan Democratic Republic-100: The first parliamentary republic in the Muslim East” held at BSU


An international scientific conference entitled “Azerbaijan Democratic Republic-100: The first parliamentary republic in the Muslim East” was held at Baku State University with the support of Caucasian Muslims Office.

About 70 scholars from the USA, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Russia, Georgia, Moldova, Kuwait, and Poland participated at the conference. Moreover, figures of the scientific and educational community, members of parliament as well as state and government officials joined the conference.

Opening the event,  academician Abel Maharramov noted that the conference was organized  in accordance with President Ilham Aliyev's decree "On the 100th anniversary of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic".

Academician Abel Maharramov stressed that Modern Azerbaijan with all the attributes of statehood and public institutions is the legal successor of the democratic republic, proclaimed on May 28, 1918. In the Muslim East, the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic became the first parliamentary state based on the principles of equal rights for all citizens. One of the fundamental achievements of the ADR government was the opening of the Baku State University.

Chairman of the Caucasian Muslims Office (CMC), Sheikh-ul-Islam Allahshukur Pashazadeh, first vice-speaker of Milli Majlis, the professor Ziyafet Askerov, Head of the Institute of Caucasus Studies,  professor Musa Gasymly and  professor at Princeton University Michael Reynolds made statement to the plenary session.


Press and Information Department, May 21, 2018


New issue of the journal New Materials, Compounds and Applications (NMC&A) is published


Minister of Education sent letter of commendation to rector of BSU

The Minister of Education of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Jeyhun Bayramov sent a letter of commendation to the rector of BSU

Professor Amil Magerramov elects a member of Humanities and Social Science Research’s editorial team

Amil Magerramov, Professor, doctor of Economic Sciences, Head of the Economic and Management Department of Baku State University has been listed on the Humanities and Social Science Research’s editorial team